Back to all news

MƒA Sloan Award Winners 2018

In the News | December 12, 2018

As the Fund for the City of New York and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation celebrate 10 years of honoring high-quality teaching in New York City public schools, we congratulate MƒA Master Teachers Katelin Corbett, David Deutsch, Jude Julien, and Jonathan Rothman, as well as MƒA Master Teacher Emeritus Tempestt Taylor, who make up five of this year’s seven recipients of the 2018 Sloan Award for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics.

This prestigious award recognizes creative mathematics and science teachers who achieve superb results and inspire young people to pursue careers in mathematics and science.

Katelin (high school physics), David (high school physics), Jude (high school chemistry), Jonathan (high school computer science), and Tempestt (high school mathematics) add to our ever-growing list of MƒA teacher Sloan award winners over the years. Each has been celebrated as an extraordinary STEM teacher in New York City public high schools.

To qualify, teachers must demonstrate excellence in teaching mathematics or science in city high schools for at least five years.

The winners were chosen by an independent panel of scientists, mathematicians, and educators and received a $5,000 award as well as $2,500 for their schools’ science or math departments. The winners were honored at an awards ceremony on December 11.

Read more on this year’s winners here.